4-12-18 New Computers and Animation Assignment

Last week was Spring Break (which is why there wasn’t a blog last week). When I came back to school from Spring Break, I was surprised to see new computers in my Graphic Design classroom. These computers are much more bigger than our old computers. The new computers we got were iMacs and they do a lot more things faster than the old computers. What I did first, was I linked the data from my old computer and added all the Adobe programs that we will need to use to my toolbar. After a week long break, my teacher assigned the class with a brand new animating assignment. The assignment was to animate flower petals falling. Before we could animate we had to make the flower first in Illustrator. First I opened a new project and made it 1920 by 1080 pixels. Then I put a grid on the blank canvas and used the ellipse tool to make the flower petals. For the flower petals, I put a blue to teal to green radial gradient on it and took off the stroke. After that I used the rotation tool to rotate the petal 30 degrees and I copied and pasted the turned petal. I then made a second layer of flower petals using the same steps but instead used a red to orange to yellow-orange radial gradient and rotated that petal 15 degrees instead of 30. Then I made the center of the flower with the ellipse tool and made the stem with the pen tool. After finishing the flower, I put the flower into After Effects. My teacher taught the class how to animate the flower and I thought it was hard at first but it became easier to animate over time. I’m still working on the animation.

Leave a comment